About

News

    • Le numérique alternatif en Alsace
      12-15-2021, 20:00

      .Moderation of the librist round table, with Hackstub, ARN, the LUG, StrasHack and LiLo, Forge Numérique, Strasbourg.

    • Cyberhuts workshop
      11-13-2021, 14:00

      Facilitation of an HTML and CSS initiation workshop in chosen mixity within the framework of Hacqueen, Aube mutual aid group, Strasbourg.

    • Libérons-nous du pistage workshop
      11-07-2021, 14:00

      Co-animation of a workshop aiming to regain control over our datas and to support the public into adopting alternative digital solutions, as part of the Rentrée Furieuse organised by Strasbourg Furieuse, with Hackstub and Alsace Réseau Neutre, La Semencerie, Strasbourg.

    • Hack ver Alli: “Technopolice, cities and Lives under surveillance”
      11-05-2021, 19:30

      Projection of the film Les Yeux carrés by Louison Assié and Laure Massiet du Biest (2020), which highlights the expansion of video surveillance in Marseille, followed by a discussion with RAP (Résistance Agression Publicitaire) Strasbourg. Format prepared with Daria, Gyom and Lou. Association Hackstub, Aube mutual aid group, Strasbourg.

    • Digital accessibility: Report and perspectives from the point of view of visually impaired people and those concerned
      10-23-2021, 14:00

      A meeting between actors and users of the digital world, from associative, professional and academic backgrounds. Informal discussion, followed by a time of exchange aimed at setting up a local working group on digital accessibility issues. Moderated with Irina Lambla, Hackstub association, Le Shadok, Strasbourg.

    • Musica round table: “Focus on ecology and digital culture”
      09-17-2021, 18:00

      Participation in a round table of the Musica festival on the theme of ecology-digital culture, at the invitation of ARVIVA - living arts, sustainable arts, Cité de la Musique et de la Danse, Strasbourg.

    • Dazzle workshop
      06-27-2021, 15:00

      Co-animation with Daria of a dazzle workshop (make-up defeating facial detection technologies) in chosen gender mix as part of Pride off event at Marsha P. Johnson Library, Hacqueen collective, La Pigeonne, Strasbourg.

    • Libérons-nous du pistage workshop
      06-12-2021, 14:00

      Co-animation of a workshop aiming to regain control over our datas and to support the public into adopting alternative digital solutions, as part of the European Week of Responsible Digital Technology, with Hackstub and Alsace Réseau Neutre, in the offices of the mutual aid group Aube, Strasbourg.

Biography

Marjorie Ober is a graphic designer, artist, and programmer.
She lives and works in Strasbourg.
Her practice includes posters, book design, writing, web and installation.
She uses exclusively free licenses and free softwares since 2018.
Attached to collaboration, she works on different projects or responds to commissions in cooperation with the Figures Libres collective and the artist, graphic designer and programmer Nicolas Chesnais, and occasionally with Camille Trimardeau within the collective Plus Plus Égal that they founded in 2014.

As part of her commissioned work, she co-directed the visual identities of the Libre-Échange exhibition, the internal communication of ESADHaR and the Libre Software Meeting 2018. She has also designed various websites for structures such as the fictional podcast platform Sonya, the juggling collective Collectif Protocole, the associative hackerspace Hackstub or the graphic design studio Horstaxe.

As part of her research work, she is interested in the means we have today to “travel” in images. She conceives these visual experiences as tools, which take the form of both printed media and digital devices. She wrote a master thesis on this subject, followed by a DNSEP diploma in graphic design & interactive medias at ESADHaR in Le Havre, which she obtained in 2016. Her main object of study and creation today is cyberfeminism, with writing and programming as her favourite modes of exploration and expression. Apart from the Cyberhuts project, writings and productions in this regard appear on her blog.

She has exhibited her work :
at the Glassbox in Paris as part of a reactivation of Edition 1 of 149 with the artwork Une matière du présent, redesigned with the artist Pierre Frulloni in October 2019 ;
at the Consigne SNCF of Le Havre as part of Une Saison graphique with an in situ installation in May 2019 ;
at the Galerie Duchamp in Yvetot as part of the group exhibition Background with pieces from the Cascades series in May 2017;
at ENSA Normandie as part of the group exhibition Take care of us with pieces from the Cascades series in November 2016.
She has also added herself to writing, producing the texts Le Tutoriel and Quelle place pour l'image de design graphique ? for the event Super Image at CEAAC - Art center in Strasbourg in 2019 and 2017. More recently, she has undertaken the writing of a series of texts listed under the title Body Recoding : de l'injonction au réenchantement du corps féminin. Corps, Style, Mouvement and accessible online.

Invested in the Hackstub, a Strasbourg hackerspace that raises awareness of the local public to the Libre culture and computer science, Marjorie has participated in the development of different formats in the popular education program of the association. More recently, she joined the cyberfeminist group Hacqueen and contributes to the animation of the collective. She counts among her interventions the participation in local discussions on data or ecology and digital culture (Musica festival) and on libre graphics softwares (Le Shadok, Libre Graphics Meeting 2020). She also co-facilitated workshops such as Cybercabanes (HTML and CSS initiation with Ada Lanerd), Dazzle (anti-surveillance make-up with Daria) or Libérons-nous du pistage (regain control over one's data and adopt alternative digital solutions with Alsace Réseau Neutre).
Outside of the associative context, she also carried out mediation with graphic design students from the Saint-Vincent-de-Paul high school and the ESADHaR in Le Havre. You can find the training courses and workshops proposed here.

Credits

Graphic design and development: Marjorie Ober.

CMS: GRAV.

Fonts: Karmilla (2012) by J. Pinhorn, M. Schmalstieg, R. Bastide, N. Maravitti and Vollkorn (2006) by F. Althausen.

Text distributed under the terms of the CC BY-ND 4.0 licence, images distributed under the terms of the Art Libre 1.3 licence.

Gif: Peanut Butter Jelly Time meme.

À propos

News

    • Network & Magic
      21-05-2022, 14:00

      Un jeu de rôle pour comprendre les bases du fonctionnement d’Internet, co-animation avec Ada Lanerd pour Hackstub, Le Shadok, Strasbourg.

    • Contribatelier "Accessibilité numérique"
      30-04-2022, 10:30

      Co-organisé avec Irina Lambla et Valentin Grimaud pour Hackstub et Alsace Réseau Neutre, Médiathèque Neudorf, Strasbourg. Retour d'expérience et résultats des tests publiés sur La Litière, le wiki des CHATONS.

    • Hack ver Alli : Lanceur.euse.s d’alerte, de l’alarme à la protection des personnes
      22-04-2022, 19:00

      Projection du film Hacking Justice sur le combat de Julian Assange et discussion informelle, co-organisé avec Hackstub et Alternatiba, GEM Aube, Strasbourg.

    • Atelier Dazzle
      02-04-2022, 14:00

      Co-animation d'un atelier de maquillage-camouflage pour tromper les technologies de détection faciale, avec Ada Lanerd, Daria et Tanguy Chêne pour Hackstub, Le Shadok, Strasbourg.

    • Hack ver Alli : Health Data Hub, quelles utilisations et circulations de nos données de santé ?
      25-03-2022, 19:00

      Échange avec un médecin du CHU de Strasbourg, format préparé avec Ada Lanerd, Daria et Harmonie pour Hackstub, Foyer de l’Étudiant Catholique, Strasbourg.

Biographie

Marjorie Ober est graphiste, artiste, et programmeuse.
Elle vit et travaille à Strasbourg.
Sa pratique convoque l'affiche, l'édition, l'écriture, le web et l'installation.
Elle utilise exclusivement des licences et des logiciels libres depuis 2018.
Elle se spécialise actuellement dans l'accessibilité numérique, plus précisément dans la création de sites web et de documents numériques accessibles.

Attachée à la collaboration, elle œuvre à différents projets ou répond à la commande en coopération notamment avec le collectif Figures Libres et l'artiste, graphiste et programmeur Nicolas Chesnais, et ponctuellement avec Camille Trimardeau au sein du collectif Plus Plus Égal qu'elles ont fondé en 2014. Elle travaille régulièrement avec l'équipe de Sonya (un espace d'écoute dédiée au podcast de fiction audio et un studio de création sonore basé à Strasbourg) sur divers projets.

Dans le cadre de la commande, elle a coréalisé les identités visuelles de l'exposition Libre-Échange, de la communication interne de l'ESADHaR et des Rencontres Mondiales du Logiciel Libre 2018. Elle a également conçu divers sites web pour des structures telles que l'association Sonya, le collectif de jonglage Collectif Protocole, le hackerspace associatif Hackstub ou le studio de design graphique Horstaxe.

Dans le cadre de son travail de recherche, elle s'intéresse aux moyens dont nous disposons aujourd’hui pour « voyager » dans l’image. Elle conçoit ces expériences visuelles comme des outils, qui prennent la forme tant de supports imprimés que de dispositifs numériques. Elle consacre à ce sujet un mémoire, puis un diplôme de DNSEP en design graphique & interactivité à l'ESADHaR du Havre qu'elle obtient en 2016. Son objet d'étude et de création principal aujourd'hui est le cyberféminisme, avec pour modes d'exploration et d'expression privilégiés l'écriture et la programmation. Hormis le projet Cybercabanes, les écrits et productions à cet égard apparaissent sur son blog.

Elle a exposé son travail :
à la Glassbox à Paris dans le cadre d'une réactivation de l'Édition 1 du 149 avec la pièce Une matière du présent, repensée avec l’artiste Pierre Frulloni en octobre 2019 ;
à la Consigne SNCF du Havre dans le cadre d'Une Saison graphique avec une installation in situ en mai 2019 ;
à la Galerie Duchamp à Yvetot dans le cadre de l'exposition collective Background avec des pièces extraites de la série Cascades en mai 2017 ;
à l'ENSA Normandie dans le cadre de l'exposition collective Prenez soin de nous avec des pièces extraites de la série Cascades en novembre 2016.

S'addonnant également à l'écriture, elle a notamment produit les textes Le Tutoriel et Quelle place pour l'image de design graphique ? pour l’événement Super Image au CEAAC — Centre d'art à Strasbourg en 2019 et 2017. Plus récemment, elle a entrepris la rédaction d'une série de textes répertoriés sous le titre Body Recoding : de l'injonction au réenchantement des corps féminins. Corps, Style, Mouvement et accessibles depuis une instance Nextcloud.

Investie dans la Hackstub, un hackerspace strasbourgeois qui sensibilise le public local à la culture et à l'informatique Libre, Marjorie a participé à l'élaboration de différents formats dans le programme d'éducation populaire de l'association (voir prestations Hackstub). Plus récemment, elle a intégré le groupe cyberféministe Hacqueen et contribue à l'animation du collectif. Elle compte parmi ses interventions la participation à des discussions locales sur l'accessibilité numérique, la data ou l'écologie et la culture numérique (Le Shadok, Médiathèque Neudorf, festival Musica) et sur les logiciels de traitement graphique libres (Le Shadok, Libre Graphics Meeting 2020). Elle a aussi coanimé des ateliers tels que Cybercabanes (initiation HTML et CSS avec Ada Lanerd), Dazzle (maquillage anti-surveillance avec Daria) ou Libérons-nous du pistage (reprendre le contrôle sur ses données et adopter des solutions numériques alternatives avec Alsace Réseau Neutre).

En dehors du contexte associatif, elle a également effectué des temps de médiation avec des étudiant.e.s en design graphique du lycée Saint-Vincent-de-Paul et de l'ESADHaR du Havre. Il est possible de retrouver les formats proposés en animation qui relèvent de la création collective sur la page prestations Hackstub, et ceux résultant d'une production personnelle dans un répertoire de cours en ligne via Nextcloud.

Crédits

Conception graphique et développement : Marjorie Ober.

CMS : GRAV.

Fontes : Karmilla (2012) de J. Pinhorn, M. Schmalstieg, R. Bastide, N. Maravitti et Vollkorn (2006) de F. Althausen.

Textes diffusés selon les termes de la licence CC BY-ND 4.0, images distribuées selon les termes de la licence Art Libre 1.3.

Gif : Mème Peanut Butter Jelly Time.